RTL501 - JXC20
AEC was London Transport's major supplier of buses but, at the
end of the war, it became apparent that they had insufficient
capacity to meet the future demand.So, in the summer of 1946,
Leyland Motors Ltd was approached to supply 1,500 of its new
standard 9.8 litre engine, 1,000 for RT's which would now be
called RTL's and the remaining 500 for RTW's, the wider-bodied
was the first Leyland-engined RT to enter service on 16th
June 1948, operating from Turnham Green garage on Route 91.
Easily recognisable by its Leyland radiator grille which did
not have the AEC-style central vertical silver strip, its
Leyland chassis also has the characteristic flat-faced Leyland
dumb-irons. RTL501 is also unique because it was also the only
Leyland to be fitted with a roof box from new, since it used
the RT3 body originally destined for RT657.